To make a good wine, we need rich and healthy soils as a united and voluntary team. Then, we want to leave a land full of future for our 7 children. This is why we are determined to protect, preserve and enrich our terroir. So how can we make the planet more beautiful?

The treatments, rich

Our objective: no synthetic products or metals in our soils ...

For almost 20 years, we have been working our vines in conservation agriculture which borrows certain techniques from organic farming or biodynamics. Our goal: no synthetic products or metals in our floors. For the 2020 season, we have planned 8 treatments based on essential oils (citrus, algae, etc.) which should be enough to accompany our vines. Hope that nature will be lenient.

tracteur 1x1.jpg

Weeding, healthy

In order to clean up our soils and naturally protect our vines, we have sown oats between the rows. When it grows, it suffocates the weeds. Unfortunately, she also suffocated the young plants, which were not strong enough to fight. So since then, still no weedkiller, but we button, scrub, claw, mow ... and it is only with regular tillage that we clean them.

We weed exclusively mechanically ...

nich ruch hourtinducasse 1x1 web.jpg

Helpful workers

Since several years, we have been offering a specific welcome for blue tits and bats. A blue tit eats more than 500 insects per day while a bat devours 3,000 insects each night. We want to regulate, by this natural means the impact of pests, on our domain. The shelters were developed with a wood and a thickness corresponding to the demands of each species and placed to accommodate in the best possible conditions our "natural workers".

Blue tits and bats are welcome ...

hourtinducasse panneaux photov.jpg

Electricity, surplus

For almost 5 years, 240 m2 of photovoltaic panels installed on the roof of our cellars allow us, from September, to be positive in electrical consumption and therefore to contribute, humbly but naturally, to the global production of electricity needed by the planet.

For more than 5 years, we have been producing more electricity than we use ...

bambou chateauhourtinducasse.jpg

A prolific paper

When we write to you, all our documents are made of recyclable paper . Some are entirely recycled paper , others are… bamboo. Very resistant, bamboo grows without pesticides, fertilizers or any chemical product. It is the fastest growing plant in the world, gaining up to one meter per day. It can thus be harvested several times a year. Another advantage is that it generates more oxygen than deciduous trees and has the capacity to limit soil erosion and restore those that are impoverished thanks to its many rhizomes.

We love to write to you, on bamboo ...

borne chateauhourtinducasse.jpg

A clean car

As a good engineer, Michel Marengo is always looking for innovative solutions. So he bought a 100% electric car. It now emits no polluting particles when it travels. And if you have also purchased an electric car or a rechargeable hybrid car, during your visit to Château Hourtin-Ducasse, we provide you with 2 charging stations free of charge.

Come and charge in electricity at home ...

poignee de mains 1x1.jpg

Some obvious, obvious

Plant cover by natural herbicide during the winter period. Waste management with systematic sorting. Bottle donations to support key associations and volunteers in our region (firefighters, Clermont-Ferrand palliative care center, gendarmerie, town hall, various events, etc.). Preference given to local suppliers (for vines, cellars and receptions in the domain). Resting part of the estate with unworked plots. Optimization of the team's working conditions: rooms equipped at their sole disposal, adaptation of schedules according to the weather, training, etc.

Obviously ...

terre chateauhourtinducasse.jpg

A future, to be defined

Always curious about a better understanding of our terroir, we like to try new approaches to the vine and wine. Electric wave sensors on the vines, alcoholic fermentations in closed barrels, sound waves to strengthen the natural defenses of our feet ... These experiences have one goal: to produce better wine. If these are not always fruitful, they are always rewarding.
And then, treatments with algae, robots, chickens ...

We learn just as much from our mistakes that of his successes. So we keep trying ...

chateauhourtinducasse new logo complet.p

Pour faire un bon vin, nous avons besoin de sols riches et sains ainsi que d’une équipe soudée et volontaire. Et puis, nous souhaitons laisser une terre pleine d’avenir à nos 7 enfants. C'est pourquoi, nous sommes déterminés à protéger, préserver et enrichir notre terroir. Alors comment rendre la planète plus belle ?

Les traitements, riches

Notre objectif : aucun produit de synthèse ni métal dans nos sols...

Depuis presque 20 ans, nous travaillons nos vignes en agriculture de conservation qui emprunte certaines techniques à l’agriculture biologique ou encore à la biodynamie. Notre objectif : aucun produit de synthèse ni métal dans nos sols. Pour la campagne 2017, nous avons prévu 8 traitements à base d’huiles essentielles (agrumes, algues…) qui devraient suffire à accompagner nos ceps. Espérons que la nature sera clémente.

tracteur 1x1.jpg

Le désherbage, sain

Afin d’assainir nos sols et protéger naturellement nos vignes, nous avons semé de l’avoine entre les rangs. En poussant, celle-ci asphyxie les mauvaises herbes. Hélas, elle a aussi asphyxié les jeunes plants, pas assez résistants pour combattre. Alors depuis, toujours pas de désherbant, mais nous buttons, décavaillonnons, griffons, tondons… et c’est uniquement avec un travail régulier des sols que nous les nettoyons.

Nous désherbons de façon exclusivement mécanique...

nich ruch hourtinducasse 1x1 web.jpg

Des travailleurs, utiles

Depuis quelques années nous proposons un accueil spécifique aux mésanges bleues et aux chauves-souris. Une mésange bleue mange plus de 500 insectes par jour tandis qu’une chauve-souris dévore 3 000 insectes chaque nuit. Nous voulons réguler, par ce biais naturel l’impact des nuisibles, sur notre domaine. Les abris ont été élaborés avec un bois et une épaisseur correspondant aux demandes de chaque espèce et placés pour accueillir dans les meilleures conditions possibles nos « travailleurs naturels ».

Mésanges bleues et chauves-souris sont les bienvenues...

hourtinducasse panneaux photov.jpg

L'électricité, excédentaire

Depuis bientôt 5 ans, 240 m2 de panneaux photovoltaïques installés sur le toit de nos chais nous permettent, à partir du mois de septembre, d’être positifs en consommation électrique et donc de contribuer, humblement mais naturellement, à la production mondiale de l’électricité nécessaire à la planète.

Depuis plus de 5 ans, nous produisons plus d'électricité que nous n'en consommons...

bambou chateauhourtinducasse.jpg

Un papier, prolifique

Quand nous vous écrivons, tous nos documents sont en papier recyclable. Certains sont en papier entièrement recyclé, d'autres sont en… bambou. Très résistant, le bambou croît sans pesticides, engrais ni aucun produit chimique. C’est la plante qui pousse le plus rapidement au monde, pouvant gagner jusqu'à un mètre par jour. Il peut ainsi être récolté plusieurs fois par an. Autre avantage, il génère plus d'oxygène que les arbres feuillus et a la capacité de limiter l'érosion des sols et de restaurer ceux qui sont appauvris grâce à ses nombreux rhizomes.

Nous aimons vous écrire, sur du bambou...

borne chateauhourtinducasse.jpg

Une voiture propre

En bon ingénieur, Michel Marengo est toujours à la recherche de solutions innovantes. Il a donc fait l’acquisition d’une voiture 100 % électrique. Il n’émet désormais aucune particule polluante lors de ses déplacements. Et si vous avez également fait l’acquisition d’une voiture électrique ou d’une voiture hybride rechargeable, pendant votre visite au Château Hourtin-Ducasse, nous mettons gratuitement à votre disposition 2 bornes de recharge.

Passez vous charger en électricité à la maison...

poignee de mains 1x1.jpg

Quelques évidences, évidentes

Couvert végétal par enherbant naturel pendant la période hivernale. Gestion des déchets avec tri systématique. Dons de bouteilles pour soutenir les associations et bénévoles clés de notre territoire (pompiers, centre de soins palliatifs de Clermont-Ferrand, gendarmerie, mairie, événements divers…). Préférence donnée aux fournisseurs locaux (pour la vigne, les chais et les réceptions au domaine). Mise en repos d’une partie du domaine avec des parcelles non travaillées. Optimisation des conditions de travail de l’équipe : salles équipées à leur unique disposition, adaptation des horaires en fonction de la météo, formation…

Évidemment...

terre chateauhourtinducasse.jpg

Un avenir, à définir

Toujours curieux d’une meilleure compréhension de notre terroir, nous aimons essayer de nouvelles approches de la vigne et du vin. Des capteurs d’ondes électriques sur pieds de vignes, des fermentations alcooliques en barriques fermées, des ondes sonores pour renforcer les défenses naturelles de nos pieds… Ces expériences ont un seul objectif : produire un meilleur vin. Si celles-ci ne sont pas toujours fructueuses, elles sont toujours enrichissantes.
Et puis, les traitements par les algues, des robots, des poules …

On apprend tout autant de ses erreurs que de ses succès. Alors on continue à essayer...

chateauhourtinducasse new logo complet.p