VINTAGE

from 3 to 5

October

HARVEST

BLEND

BLEND

cabernet-sauvignon 50%, merlot 43%, cabernet franc 5%, petit verdot 2%

VINIFICATION

AND MATURING

FERMENTATION

alcoholic in open and closed barrels (52% of the harvest), malolactic fermentation in barrels (100%)

MATURING 100% in barrels, 25% in new oak

PRODUCTION

AND ALC. BY VOL.

PRODUCTION

22,464 bottles

Alc. by vol. 12.5%

Chateau Hourtin-Ducasse 2019

The mastery

Get the data sheet

THE SEASON

After a 2017 vintage marked by frost and a 2018 marked by mildew, 2019 played with our nerves imposing a great presence and vigilance. The very spread out flowering with relatively cool and rainy weather generated a bit of coulure and millerandage which forced us to eliminate the imperfect berries. The heat waves of June 26 and July 27 caused the most fragile vines to suffer with a slight water stress blocking for a time the vegetative process; the old vines with deep roots have been defending themselves more efficiently. Because of the differences in maturity, a consequence of the spreading flowering, new berries, green in the middle of the reds, had to be eliminated to ensure the quality of the harvest. The rains at the end of August and mid-September finally unblocked everything, without bursting the berries. For several years, the climatic conditions at the end of summer have made it possible to produce exceptionally fine vintages in Bordeaux. This year is no exception, but each plot reacted in its own way according to the exposure and the terroir. Pick-up was done à la carte to find the right maturity for each plot. The cabernets, rigorous at the start, relaxed at the end, finally giving off fatness and silkiness. This year, Petits Verdots seem to promise structure in the mid-palate, with a nice outfit and unusual elegance. The alcoholic fermentations took place without hesitation, and the malolactics were done in stride (co-inoculation of yeasts). An easy vintage in the cellar, no doubt thanks to the quality of the raw material.

The shine of the fruit, the color gain and the density that arrive are positive indicators. 2019 could be as impressive as 2018, or even exceed it. It leaves you imagine it precise, straight, and pure but without the opulence of 2010! Elegance takes shape with particularly good balance and controlled power...

After a 2017 vintage marked by frost and a 2018 by mildew, 2019 will have played with our nerves...

TASTING

Nice covered ruby color.
Fruity nose, black fruit jam (blackcurrant), wild berries (blackberries, blueberries, plums). Aromas of grape skins. Floral touches, red flowers (peony). Smoky mineral shades (carbon). Typical Médoc.
A fleshy and grainy attack, aromas of wild berries. A fine, precise wine with brilliance, finishing on tight and fresh tannins. A good fruity return.
Serving temperatures: 13-14°C.


Harmonises with: grilled black pudding, hazelnut duck pâté, Bordelaise lamprey, roast lamb, duck breast carpaccio, cheese: brillant-savarin, desserts: black forest cake, blueberry pie…

April 5, 2021
fruit day
Marc Quertinier,
oenologist

MENTIONS

  • Rated 89 by Wine Enthusiast: “A spicy wine, this is light in texture, already with an attractive balance between fruit and tannins. As the initial freshness smooths out, the wine will develop a spicy character to balance the fresh fruitiness. - ­Drink from 2023. (Roger Voss –  1.9.21)”

hourtinducasse 2019.jpg

HARVEST

chateauhourtinducasse new logo complet.p

VENDANGE

du 3 au 5

octobre

VENDANGE

ASSEMBLAGE

ASSEMBLAGE

de cabernet-sauvignon 50 %, merlot 43 %, cabernet franc 5 %, petit verdot 2 %

VINIFICATION

ET ELEVAGE

FERMENTATION

alcoolique en barriques fermées (52 % de la récolte), fermentation malolactique en barriques (100%)

ELEVAGE

avec 25 % de bois neuf

PRODUCTION

ET DEGRE

PRODUCTION

de 22 464 bouteilles

12,5 % vol.

Château Hourtin-Ducasse 2019

La maîtrise

Obtenir la fiche technique

LA CAMPAGNE

Après un millésime 2017 marqué par le gel et un 2018 par le mildiou, 2019 aura joué avec nos nerfs imposant une grande disponibilité et une vigilance de tous les instants. La floraison très étalée avec un temps relativement frais et pluvieux généra un peu de coulure et de millerandage qui nous obligèrent à éliminer les baies imparfaites. Les canicules du 26 juin et du 27 juillet firent souffrir les vignes les plus fragiles avec un léger stress hydrique bloquant un temps le processus végétatif ; les vieilles vignes à l’enracinement profond se défendirent mieux. En raison des différences de maturité, conséquence de la floraison étalée, de nouvelles baies, vertes au milieu des rouges, durent être éliminées pour assurer la qualité de la vendange. Les pluies de fin août et mi-septembre débloquèrent finalement tout, sans pour autant faire éclater les baies. Depuis plusieurs années, les conditions climatiques de fin d’été permirent de réaliser de très beaux millésimes à Bordeaux. Cette année n’y échappa pas, mais chaque parcelle réagit à sa façon selon l’exposition, le terroir. Le ramassage se fit à la carte pour trouver la juste maturité de chaque parcelle. Les cabernets, rigoureux au début, se détendirent sur la fin, pour donner du gras et du soyeux. Cette année, les petits verdots semblèrent promettre de la structure en milieu de bouche, avec une belle tenue et une élégance inhabituelle. Les fermentations alcooliques se déroulèrent sans hésitation, et les malolactiques se firent dans la foulée (co-inoculation de levures). Un millésime facile donc au chai, sans doute grâce à la qualité de la matière première. L’éclat du fruit, la prise de couleur et la densité qui arrivèrent furent des indicateurs positifs. 2019 pourrait-il être aussi impressionnant que 2018, voire le dépasser. Il s’imagine précis, droit et pur mais sans l’opulence du 2010 ! L’élégance se dessine avec un très bon équilibre et une puissance maîtrisée…

Après un millésime 2017 marqué par le gel et un 2018 par le mildiou, 2019 aura joué avec nos nerfs...

DEGUSTATION

Jolie robe rubis couverte.
Nez fruité, confiture de fruits noirs (cassis), baies sauvages (mûres, myrtilles, prunelles). Arômes de peaux de raisins. Des touches florales, fleurs rouges (pivoine). Des nuances minérales fumées (carbone). Typé Médoc.
Une attaque charnue, du grain, des arômes de baies sauvages. Un vin fin, précis avec de l’éclat, finissant sur des tanins serrés et frais. Un bon retour fruité.
Températures de service : 13 – 14° C.

Harmonies : boudins grillés, pâté de canard aux noisettes, lamproies à la bordelaise, rôti d’agneau, carpaccio de magret de canard, fromage : brillat-savarin, desserts : forêt noire, tarte aux myrtilles…

5 avril 2021
jour fruits
Marc Quertinier,
oenologue

POUR AJOUTER LE MILLESIME 2019 À VOTRE PANIER

chateauhourtinducasse new logo complet.p